

VOS Program Awards



NOAA Ship *Albatross IV* crewmembers left to right: CDR Peter Celone, LCDR Phil Cruccis, LTJG John Crofts, and 2nd Officer Steve Wagner received the 2001 VOS Outstanding Performance Award.

3rd Mate Pamela Taylor of the CSX Anchorage received a National VOS award for 2001 while in Anchorage, Alaska on May 14, 2002. The CSX Anchorage had 729 observations in 2001, which was the third highest total in Alakan waters. For the period Jan - Apr 2002, the CSX Anchorage was in 1st place in the Alaska rankings with 418 observations. They are well ahead of their excellent pace of 2001.





The SS Badger received a 2002 VOS award. Pictured left to right: 1st Mate Mike Miller, CAPT Dean Hobbs, 3rd Mate Mike Steward, CAPT Kevin Fitch, and 2nd Mate Allan Chrenka. This was the first year for the Badger, and they took 420 observations. Good work considering they don't sail mid October - mid May. The SS Badger is a car ferry that sails from Manitowoc, WI to Ludington, MI.



The M/V Chesapeake Bay was presented with a VOS award by Mr. Peter Gibino in Norfolk in late February. Pictured from left to right: CAPT Seth Harris, Master, 2nd Officer Jan W. Waalewyn, 3rd Officer Michael F. Lyons, Chief Officer Bryan C. Byrne, and Radio Officer John L. Shettles, III.



The NOAA ship *Delaware II*received a 2001 VOS
Outstanding Performance
Award. Pictured left to
right: ENS Bryan
Wagonseller, LTJG Nick
Chrobak, and ENS William
Whitmore.

The Lykes Discover received a 2001
VOS Outstanding Performance
Award. Pictured left to right: Chief
Mate Harold Held, CAPT Scott Putty,
Chief Mate Robert P. Strobel, Jr., and
PMO Chris Fakes.







Pictured on the left is Chief Mate Steve Illige and on the right is CAPT John Emmel of the *Crowley Tug Guardian*. They received their NWS VOS Award for 2001 on May 17, 2002 while in the Port of Anchorage, Alaska. The *Guardian* had the 2nd highest total observations in Alaskan waters for 2001 with 810.

The Captain and crew of the M/V Indiana received a 2000 VOS Award. Pictured left to right: 2nd Mate Jon Watson, CAPT James VanDongen, 1st Mate Mark Fraley, and 3rd Mate Dan Franklin.



PMO Chris Fakes, center presents a VOS Award to CAPT Wes Winters (left) and 2nd Mate Doug Vines (right) of the Sealand Integrity.



Chief Mate Jeff Cowan received the 2001 VOS Superior Performance Award onboard the *President Kennedy*.





Pictured left to right: Chief Mate Gerald Parlon and CAPT Eric Francen of the Sealand Commitment received the 2001 VOS Outstanding Performance Award.

PMO Chris Fakes presented a 2001 VOS Outstanding Award to Master Pete Mitchell (left) and Master James Brennan (right) of the *Sealand Pride*.







Pictured left to right: Chief Mate Charles Tessaro and 2nd Mate Roger Peterson received a National VOS Award for 2001 while at the Port of Anchorage, Alaska on May 24, 2002. This is the 2nd year in a row that the *Crowley Tug Seneca* has won this prestigious National Award.

The CSX Spirit received a 2001 VOS Superior Performance Award. From left to right: 2nd Mate Warren Bragg, CAPT Erik Williamson, and 3rd Mate Gary Lightner.





The Crew of the Susan W. Hannah received a year 2000 VOS Award. Pictured left to right: 2nd mate John King, CAPT Clark King, and 1st Mate Rich Deichelbor.